Capucine Lageat
& Antoine Perroteau

       Fr / En


HUTONG STORIES

For fifteen years, the municipality of Beijing has been busy levelling many popular neighborhoods to develop its infrastructure and control its demographics. In the historic center, the hutongs, traditional neighborhoods that became communal with the advent of the People’s Republic of China, are now targeted by the municipality to promote heritage.

At the Museum of Urban Planning in Beijing, a promotional video explains that “residents must be properly evacuated from the city center [...] to restore and reproduce the old impression of traditional streets and to improve services of public interest. “. The ever-changing city is punctuated by temporary zones of rapid destruction, from hutong to hutong. These zones unite different temporalities of the city.


Hutong Stories is a set of three artworks including a non-linear documentary film, Ellipse temporelle (9’45‘’), a 3D animation, Authenticité virtuelle (2’03‘’) and a series of photographs on glasses, Macro-géologie urbaine​.




Ellipse temporelle, installation for two video-projectors FHD, 9’45’’, 64/9






Authenticité virtuelle, video loop, 2’03’’, 16/9, FHD







Macro-géologie urbaine (Urban Macro-Geology)are satellite and printed on glass plates.


installation, wood and printed glass plates, 24cm = 1km, 2018, photographs taken from Google Earth between 2002 and 2018

Capucine Lageat


Antoine Perroteau

HUTONG STORIES

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, la municipalité de Pékin s’emploie à raser de nombreux quartiers populaires afin de développer ses infrastructures et maîtriser sa démographie. Dans le centre historique, les ​hutongs​, ces quartiers traditionnels qui sont devenus communautaires avec l'avènement de la République Populaire de Chine, sont aujourd’hui ciblés par la municipalité pour y promouvoir le patrimoine.

Au Musée de la planification urbaine de Pékin, une vidéo promotionnelle explique qu’ « il faut évacuer correctement les résidents du centre ville [...] pour restaurer et reproduire l’impression ancienne des rues traditionnelles et y améliorer les services d’intérêt publics ». La ville en constante transformation se retrouve ponctuée de zones temporaires de destruction se déplaçant rapidement de​ hutong​ en ​hutong​. Ces zones unissent différentes temporalités de la ville.


Hutong Stories est un ensemble de trois pièces comprenant un film documentaire non-linéaire, Ellipse temporelle ​(9’45’’), une animation 3D, Authenticité virtuelle ​(2’03’’) ainsi qu’une série de photographies sur verres, Macro-géologie urbaine​.




Ellipse temporelle

installation pour deux vidéo-projecteurs FHD, 9’45’’, 64/9






Authenticité virtuelle

boucle vidéo, 2’03’’, 16/9, FHD







Macro-géologie urbaine

installation de photographies satellites imprimées sur verres


12 photographies tirées de Google Earth prisent entre 2002 et 2018, 18x24cm. Échelle : 24cm = 1km
L’installation recompose le plan de la ville de Pékin en rapprochant différents espaces en transformation depuis 2002